Club Championships 2017 – Results and Reports…

There was a good turn out across the weekend for the Aylesbury Squash Club championships which were held either side of the latest in our series of exhibition matches, this time between James Willstrop and Paul Coll.

The Mens Championship was won, again, by Ian McGowan who continued his recent years domination of this competition with a 3-0 victory over Simon Dennis. Although Simon could possibly point to being a little exhausted from a 5 game semi-final and one game (which probably felt like 5) against James Willstrop. A well-deserved beer and pizza may also have been on his mind towards the end.

The Ladies Championship ended with a victory for Chloe Foster in her first entry into this tournament. After a dominant performance by Chloe in the first two games the third game was very tight and Zoe Dexter was unfortunate not to take the match into further games.

The Plate Competition was a closely fought tournament at both the semi-final and final stages with a hard fought victory over 5 games going to Ian Durrant over an ever improving Oliver Field. With his relentless and iconic record in this event for the dark horses, we now wonder what can be done to prise the trophy from Durrant’s grasp – come on plate specialists, 2018 – someone needs to step up 🙂

The Clubmans Trophy, for those in the middle club leagues, ended with a repeat victory for Max Evans 3-1 over Chloe Foster but the score line does not reflect the closeness of the battle across all 4 of the games.

The Wanderers Trophy, for those in the lower club leagues, was a well contested tournament but proved a match too far for Paul Little, after a hard fought semi-final, and he was unable to really trouble Martin Campbell on his way to a 3-0 victory.




The Club Championships were played on the weekend of 4th / 5th March 2017.

This is a graded tournament and so there are a number of different tournaments to cater for all standards of player.


Saturday 4th March

Mens Championship

Round 1

Match Time Court
A 10.30 1 Ian Durrant v Lewis Philips
B 10.30 2 Chris Inskip v Oliver Field
C 10.30 3 Luca Guerzoni v Lewis Milner
D 11.10 1 Ryan Pluckrose v Tristan Vasey
E 11.10 2 Adam Gibson v Sam Ovens

Round 2

Match Time Court
13.00 1 Ian McGowan v Winner A
13.00 2 Winner B v Winner C
13.00 3 Craig Bartlett v Winner D
13.00 4 Simon Dennis v Winner E

Ladies Championship

Round 1

Match Time Court
11.10 3 Julia Foster v Karen Whitehead
11.10 4 Angela Parr v Tayla Honour

Note: Chloe Foster and Zoe Dexter have a bye into the semi-final on Sunday


Match Time Court
11.45 1 Ben Milner v James Reed
11.45 2 Chloe Foster v Simon Honour

Note: Max Evans and John Gilmour have a bye into the semi-final on Sunday


Round 1

Match Time Court
12.20 1 Martin Campbell v Tayla Honour
12.20 2 Cory Gibson v Darren Franklin
12.20 3 Paul Little v Mark Croft
12.20 4 Julia Foster v Lawrence Margetts

Plate Competition

Round 1

There will be at least a first round of the plate scheduled for 14.00 – depending on numbers.

Sunday 5th March

Semi Finals

Mens: 11.00 and 11.40 on Court 1

Ladies: 12.20 on Courts 1 and 2

Plate: 11.40 on Courts 3 and 4

Clubmans: 11.00 and 11.40 on Court 2

Wanderers: 11.00 on Courts 3 and 4


Wanderers: 17.20: Martin Campbell beat Paul Little 3-0

Clubmans: 18.00: Max Evans beat Chloe Foster: 3-1

Plate: 18.40: Ian Durrant beat Oliver Field 3-2

Ladies: 19.20: Chloe Foster beat Zoe Dexter 3-0

Mens: 20.00: Ian McGowan beat Simon Dennis 3-0